Coupons, Cards and Dinner

After leaving work last night I headed straight to CVS before going home.  They had some great deals this week and being the couponer I am I couldn’t pass them up.  Plus, Ryan has been bugging me for the last week to pick up paper towels.  I mention CVS because I scored two 84 count boxes of Pampers snugglers diapers for 50% off and I had coupons!  They were originally $23.99, I paid $9.99!  How awesome is that?!

I headed home and when I walked into the dining room this is what I found on the table.  A few weeks ago I lost my reusable to-go cup and by lost I mean I left it at my parents and my sister confiscated it.  I am always thirsty and that cup was so perfect to take anywhere.  This is what makes my husband so amazing.  He truly thinks about me when purchasing gifts.  I almost cried when I saw this cup, I am so excited to have one again.  It’s the small things in life that excite me 😉 

We then exchanged cards.  Ryan was more excited about the card he got me than anything.  Once, I read it (and he made me read it out loud), he laughed so hard for a good minute.  He thought he was sooo clever.  Haha  I must say, it is a very cute card. 

The dinner I decided to make is one of our favorites.  It’s a recipe I just made up one night.  Basically looked at what we had in stock and started throwing in any ingredient that we liked.  

These are the ingredients I include in the pasta dish.

Mushrooms, kalamata olives, roasted red peppers, chopped onion, garlic, corn and feta cheese.  I also cook 2 chicken breasts and whole wheat penne pasta.  I first start out by adding a little butter and olive oil to the pan.  Then add the mushrooms, let them cook until most of their liquid has evaporated.   After the mushrooms have cooked I add in the onion, garlic, salt and pepper.Cook until the onion is translucent.  I typically add white wine to the pan at this point but substituted chicken stock instead.  Just enough to barely coat the bottom of the pan.  This brings up all those yummy flavors stuck to the pan!  When most of the liquid has evaporated I add the corn, olives and peppers.  Again, salt and pepper.

Cook for about 2 minutes and then add in the cooked chicken.  I also add in another tbsp of butter and a little olive oil.  Let cook with the lid on for another 2-3 minutes, just until everything is hot and ready to go!  Then the best part… adding the feta cheese to the hot penne pasta.  I starts to melt and creates this creamy coating over the penne.  Delicious!  Mix all ingredients into the pasta and you are ready to go!

Then enjoy with your favorite people!

Only 2 days until our gender ultrasound!  We are so excited!  I will have a really fun blog post on Monday with a video of the reveal… stay tuned!

Have a great day!
~Leah~

4 thoughts on “Coupons, Cards and Dinner

  1. Leah, you guys are soooo cute. I got deer chili which was great because Larry made it. I have been encourging Larry to do a little more of the cooking since he is at home during the day. I showed him the Pioneer Woman cookbook and he has turned into a real chef. I have had her country fried steak, meat loaf, and something else. For valentines I made him her Pot’s de creme. He loved it. Her new cookbook comes out next month and I can’t wait to get it.
    Love ya and can’t wait til Friday.

  2. Very cute Leah! Hope you and Ryan had an amazing Valentines Day, because next year will be a little different!! Your team of 2 will include a baby in the mix! I still think you should be “Surprised” with what your having! Let’s see how strong willed you can be…!! Love ya!! Amanda

Leave a Reply

