17 Weeks

 

Week: 17
Size: Onion
Baby’s job this week:  He is a about 5 oz and 5 inches long.  His body fat is beginning to form, however, his skin is still practically translucent.  He is practicing sucking and swallowing in preparation for nursing.  His heart rate is no longer spontaneous beats but is now regulated by his brain.
Symptoms:  Belly, belly, belly 
Sleep:  I had an appointment last Tuesday and asked my midwife about safe sleeping positions.  She said I can safely sleep on my back until around 28 weeks!  Music to my ears!  She told me not to worry about what position I’m sleeping in right now but just to get some sleep!  After talking with her, I have been sleeping like a baby… all night long.  Glorious sleep 🙂
Maternity Clothes:  I got 2 new bra’s last week.  Pre-pregnancy I was a 34 C so I thought a 36 C would do the trick now.  My mom gave me a bra that didn’t fit her back in December.  I thought there was no way it was going to fit me as she has always been a size ahead of me but about a week after she gave it to me, I tried it on and to my surprise it fit! I went to Target and the 36 C’s were not fitting.  I couldn’t believe it.  I checked the size bra my mom gave me, which I thought was a 34 D, it was a 34 DD!  In the changing room at Target, I busted out laughing.  I knew I had grown quite a bit but had no idea to that size!
Food aversions:  Bacon
What I miss:  Wine and blue cheese.  
Movement:  Nothing yet
Gender: Boy!
Favorite moment of the week:  Shopping with Grandma Jackie at Macy’s.  We go every year together after the Holidays.  I love being with her and her comments about “slacks, blouses, and getting shoes that match her navy slacks” never gets old.  Both of my Grandma’s have gone to Heaven but God truly gave me another one of my own with Grandma Jackie. 
What I’m looking forward to:  Feeling the baby move
Favorite Ryan quote:  “You should get one of those pregnancy cummerbunds.”  He was referring to a bellyband! haha

Have a great week!
~Leah~

2 thoughts on “17 Weeks

    • I know, right?! As soon as he said it, I ran and wrote it down on a piece of paper. He asked, “what’s that for?” I said, “This is prime blog information!” He just laughed. I love it that I will be able to remember his ‘one liners’.

Leave a Reply

