18 Weeks

This is a very special weekly update because first and foremost I want to share with you a story I read just a few days ago.  I read it on Kortneekate.com/blog (who is a fabulous photographer and just happened to be our wedding photographer)  It is about an incredible woman, Sophie, who has dedicated her life to the people of Sudan.  It is an incredible story of giving, selflessness and more than anything, Love.  Sophie is planning to take another mission trip, with 5 other women, to Uganda in 3 weeks but they are short $8,000.  Not all of us have the opportunity to participate in mission trips but we can help by supporting those that are called to these areas.  I hope you will join me in supporting their mission to Uganda by visiting Sophie’s blog,  http://sophiebringeroflight.wordpress.com/ , and donating to their paypal account.  I encourage you to give what you can, even if it’s just $10 or $15.  You can be apart of helping the people of Uganda.  I love the title of her blog, Bringer of Light, because that is what she truly is.  You can help bring that light to Uganda and let Sophie do what God has called her to do.  Just from reading Kortnee’s blog I can sense what a strong, beautiful person Sophie is. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Week: 18
Size: Sweet Potato
Baby’s job this week:  He is a about 5-6oz and is 5 1/2 inches long.  he is perfecting yawning and hiccuping this week and he now has a set of unique fingerprints on his fingers and toes!
Symptoms:  Belly, belly, belly 
Sleep:  Like a baby 🙂 
Maternity Clothes:  I am loving dresses.  None of my regular pants or shirts for that matter fit anymore.  I love dresses because they just let the belly be.
Food aversions:  I had a burger the other day and I didn’t realize it had bacon on it!  Turns out the smell of bacon makes me queasy but the taste is okay!
What I miss:  Wine and blue cheese.  
Movement:  I felt “bubbles” yesterday heading to church while eating an apple!  I made Ryan pull over to see if he could feel them but he couldn’t.  It was incredible!
Gender: Boy!
Favorite moment of the week:  My sister Lindsey visited and stayed with us from Tuesday-Thursday.  We had a great time!  We used to be roomies a couple of years ago so it was fun to have her here for a few days.  Of course Frisch’s was apart of her stay!  She’s my Big Boy partner. 
What I’m looking forward to:  20 weeks!  For whatever reason I can’t wait until that week.  I think it’s because I want to say “Half baked!”.   I also can’t wait for Ryan to feel the baby move.
Favorite Ryan quote:  This is going to take some explaining…  At dinner on Wednesday, Ryan, myself and Lindsey were laughing about a rule in our house, which is “Finish your food before Leah otherwise you will be sharing what you have left with her.”  Ryan then said this:  “Most of the time I’m sharin’… but sometimes I’m Daphney.”  He then laughed so hard at himself.  Lindsey and I were so confused and it took him a good 2 minutes to explain his joke.  He meant it as, “Most of the time I’m sharin’ (sounds like Sharron) but sometimes I’m Daphney.”  Then Lindsey and I were crying from our laughter for very different reasons than Ryan.  Oh how I love him.

Have a great week!
~Leah~

Leave a Reply

