31 Weeks

Week: 31
Size: Pineapple!
Baby’s job this week:  He is between 16-17 inches long and weighs around 3 lbs in weight!  All 5 senses are now in working order.  His skin is no longer see through but looks just like ours.  His brain continues to rapidly develop along with his lungs.  Grow baby grow!
Symptoms:  Woah leg cramps!  I had a couple last week that about made me crawl out of my skin they hurt so bad.  Luckily, Ryan is a pro at rubbing them out.  My feet are starting to get really swollen, especially at the end of the day.  I had to soak them in cold water the other day.  This little man is starting to crowd my lungs too.  I can tell that I am out of breath much faster and his kicks are higher up. 
Sleep:  Still sleeping pretty well.  Although, by morning my back and hips are very achy.
Maternity Clothes:  Anything that is fitted.  I like feeling like I still have a shape, lol.  Not a big tent.
Food Cravings:  Fro-yo.  Yummy!
Food aversions:  Nothing to report!
What I miss: Wine, Dewey’s Buffalo Chicken Pizza, and blue cheese
Movement:  Like crazy!  Sometimes my belly literally resembles a bowl of jello in the way that it moves.  This little man is ready for more room… so is momma.
Gender: Boy!
Favorite moment of the week: My lovely co-workers threw me a shower last week.  It was so fun and I received some very nice gifts.  I work with a great group of people who are so excited for this little man to arrive!  I also got all of his clothing and blankets washed last weekend.  This week I’m working to organize and put the nursery together.  It looks so cute!  
What I’m looking forward to: Father’s Day!
Favorite Ryan quote:  At our childbirth class last week, we practiced a new breathing technique where you inhale to a count of 20 and exhale to a count of 20.  After the exercise, the instructor asked how everyone did.  I stated I was only able to inhale to the count of 10, another woman stated she was able to inhale up to 12.  So the instructor asked, “Was anyone able to get to 20?”  Ryan raised his hand.  The entire class laughed and I just shook my head.  He said, “What?!  Everyone’s doing it.”  The instructor let him know while that’s good, he doesn’t count in this class as it’s for the ladies.
{Because I am documenting all the little things that are happening in our lives through out this pregnancy, I do want to briefly share that Ryan and I are struggling with our childbirth classes.  There seems to be some miscommunication between us as to what we are expecting out of each other.  I really hope next week goes much smoother than the previous weeks and we are able to really work together and be a team.  I know this is all new territory for the both of us and I have been praying a lot this week for God to give me strength and patience.  I just want what’s best for our little man.”}

Have a great week!
~Leah~

Leave a Reply

