The Great Remodel

I can’t tell you how happy it makes me that I get to finally write this post!  We finished up our master bedroom suite renovations on Tuesday.  We started this project back in August 2011.  We had professional plumbers replace the main stack and had an electrician come out and install all the electric, everything else was my wonderfully, handy husbands hard work.  When I am in our bathroom I feel like I’m at a resort it’s so beautiful.  It’s exactly what we had envisioned! 

(Henri is the cute kitty in several of the pictures)

This is what the bedroom portion looks like:

Stairs leading up to the master bedroom.

At the top of the steps we have this wonderful, hallway, if you will. Our dressers fit nicely here. Not pictured but at the top of the stairs to the left, there is a large closet that Ryan will use and it’s big enough that we use it for storage as well.

 

Looking from the hallway into our bedroom area. The bathroom is the opening to the left. When we moved in this was just one big room.

We have a bed! I can’t tell you how excited that makes me. Our mattress has been on the floor for the past year because we can’t fit a box spring up the stairs. We bought this platform bed a couple months ago and I have been dying to put it together but of course had to wait until the new carpet was installed. Little Slice’s bassinet is right next to us. Yes, my husband built this and I am in love with it.

 Just to refresh everyone’s memory, this is what we started with for the bathroom portion: 

And Ryan turned it into this… 

The bathroom is located directly across from our bed. So the entire upstairs is now a master suite. I feel like I have this amazing penthouse apartment within my house lol.  In the picture to the left, see what looks to be a round, recessed light?  It’s actually a sun tunnel.  We covered up the window in the bathroom to allow for a double vanity and installed the sun tunnel to still have natural light available in the bathroom.  It’s awesome and really lights the room up during the day so there’s no need for lighting except at night.

For the shower we went with a greenish/gray glass subway tile for the floor and as an accent border. The white tile has a wonderful texture to it that when the light hits it makes it sparkle.  I had originally purchased a porcelain, looks like marble but it isn’t, tile for the floor.  Once I got it home, I quickly returned it.  Go big or go home, right?  I’m so glad we went with Carrara Marble for the floors as it’s my favorite feature in the bathroom.  The floor is absolutely beautiful.

I love Ikea! We purchased the Godmorgan vanity with Odensvik sink. This vanity offers so much storage as all four drawers offer storage. The plumbing is done in such a way that it doesn’t affect drawer space, so each drawer goes the debth of the vanity. Fun fact: Ryan’s drawer is the top right… the rest are mine. lol The mirror, sink fixtures, and sconces are also from Ikea.

Ryan built all of this! The main goal for this wall was storage. The drawers offer storage for linens, towels, toilet paper, etc. We plan to use the built in on the right for towel storage as well. The drawers were another purchase from Ikea and Ryan created a built in look with them.

This was our first home remodel and I’d say we hit it out of the park.  Ryan is a bit of a perfectionist so nothing was built or completed half-assed.  This bathrooms construction is better than what I’ve seen some professional contractors accomplish and it was 1/3 of the price.  As you can see from some of the pictures we still have some work to do but that will have to wait until after baby Slice arrives.  We want to spend as much quality time together doing whatever it is we want to do before we welcome our little boy into our lives.  Now that we have fully functioning rooms, you’re welcome to join us at anytime little Slice! 

Have a great weekend everyone!

One thought on “The Great Remodel

Leave a Reply

