“Oh the places you’ll go” Nursery

Originally Ryan and I wanted to do a gray and yellow themed nursery.  However, the more we kept thinking about it, it just didn’t seem like it was the right fit.  I wanted a room that works for a nursery but also works for a 3-year-old.  So nothing too “babyish”.  Once we found the right bedding set, everything else just fell into place.  I also wanted to incorporate phrases from the Dr. Seuss’ book “Oh the places you will go.”  One of my favorite phrases from that book is “The more you read, the more you’ll know.  The more you learn, the more places you’ll go!”

I absolutely LOVE how little Slice’s nursery turned out.  We still need to put up the artwork my husband has designed.  Hopefully we will get to that this weekend.

We took the existing door off of the closet and built shelving… okay Ryan built the shelving, I just had the idea. We then installed a rod for clothing storage. I found the storage totes at Target. I’m planning to use the orange totes for diapers and toys and the blue tote for pacifiers, socks, and other smaller items. 

Furniture placement was not so obvious to us in the beginning! We originally had the crib on the largest wall, where the dresser is now located. It didn’t leave a large enough wall for the dresser we wanted, as I wanted to have a changing station/dresser in one. Luckily, I had an idea to place the crib outward on this wall which allowed for the room to still flow and incorporate all the pieces of furniture we wanted! The crib is Baby Mod.

My favorite part of the room! How fabulous are those curtains?! Well, I made them. Yes, I channeled my inner Grandma Jeanne and made these for the nursery. This was my very first sewing project and I am quite pleased with how they turned out. I lined the curtains with a blackout liner for those precious moments of sleep our son will take during the day 🙂 A friend from high school had a wonderful suggestion to use a rocking recliner in the room instead of a glider. BEST SUGGESTION EVER! I have already taken several naps in this chair as it is soo comfortable. We found this gem on craigslist and I couldn’t be happier with our decision. The bookshelf to the left is from Ikea, as is the lamp on top of it. The mobile I purchased from Esty.

Seriously, how cute is this airplane mobile!? I purchased it from a store on Etsy called Cactus and Olive. The owner was really easy to work with and made a custom order for us to match our rooms colors and theme!

 

The dresser is located across from the recliner and crib. We purchased the Malm dresser from Ikea and love it. So much storage space. The shelving and hamper are also from Ikea. Ryan and I decided to do the one wall in stripes to add a bit of pizzaz to the room. I think it turned out great and it wasn’t difficult to do at all. We completed the stripes within 1-2 hours. Notice what is located on the top shelf to the very left?? That’s right! It’s a Big Boy piggy bank! So very appropriate for this little man’s room.

3 thoughts on ““Oh the places you’ll go” Nursery

Leave a Reply

