Happy Halloween!

So… I didn’t get his Big Boy costume made in time.  I’m so bummed.  I waited a little bit too long to start it and ran into some issues with sewing.  I just ran out of time.  Luckily, I had an adorable little surgeon costume for him to wear… although it was a little snug! ha!

We started our Halloween festivities at HallZOOween in Cincinnati.  Of course Sam was a trooper and just slept through the entire thing.  Not a peep from him.

And… it just so happens that the Cincinnati Zoo is partly sponsored by Frisch’s Big Boy!  So we did get our picture taken with the Big Boy this year.

I was really impressed with the food choices at the Zoo this year.  The chicken was free range, buns and bakery items were baked locally, and you could choose grapes for a side instead of fries/chips.  Ryan and I made the switch to only buy free range meat a couple of years ago.  Although, I will admit to being guilty of picking up that convenient bag of Tyson frozen chicken breasts on occasion.  Now that we have Sam we really want to start being more disciplined on what we consume.  I will have a post on that coming up soon!  But now back to the fun of Halloween…

A couple of weeks ago we had a family party at the nursing home Ryan’s Grandma resides at as there was family visiting from out-of-town.  Sam may have stolen the show not only with our family but with the residents and workers at the nursing home.  It just warmed my heart to see some of the residents so excited to see this cute little bundle of adorableness.  As a child, my mom would take us to visit my Great Grandma just about every week.  We would usually go during lunch and feed my Great Grandmother as she had Alzheimer’s.  The nursing home was fairly large and would host a Halloween Trick or Treat event every year.  We would dress up in our costumes and the residents would sit outside their doors or in the hallways and pass out candy.  It was so much fun.  I talked with my mom the other day about how I didn’t realize the joy we as kids brought to the residents.  She agreed and also said how we were never scared of older adults, even those with dementia because we were introduced to that environment at such a young age.  So the tradition will continue with my kids.  Each year we will visit a nursing home at least every Halloween and Christmas.  I’d love to visit once a month.  So this year Sam, Grandma Joyce and I visited his Great Grandma and all the residents on Halloween. 

I hope everyone had a safe and fun Halloween.  Many prayers have and will continue to go out to those effected by Sandy. 

Have a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

