New Jobs. New City. New House… anything else?

Holy cannoli the past few months have been, CaRAZY!  Crazy awesome.  This poor blog has taken a back seat and I’m sure as soon as you finish ready this post you’ll understand why!  It all starts back in March…us

Since my maternity leave, I had been looking for a new job.  I loved working for the medical center, I was just ready to tweak my career direction a bit.  So, I started sending my resumes out… and then one day I sent my resume out a little farther than the rest.  I sent it to Cincinnati and I got a bite.  A big bite.  Now, that sounds exciting right?!  I sure was but the thing is, I didn’t discuss it with Ryan.  In fact, he didn’t really know I was looking for another job.  So I dropped two bombs on him at the same time: 1.  I’m looking for a new job.  2.  I got a bite and it’s in Cincinnati.  Needless to say, he wasn’t too thrilled with me.  Which of course, I don’t blame him.  In fact, he was really upset with me.  He loved his job and didn’t want to leave it.  How would we make this work?  Would I commute?  Would we live half way?  These were all great questions he had for me.  Questions I had no answers to.  So, we talked and we talked and we talked.   We decided to see how the phone interview goes and then discuss it again after that.

Well, the phone interview went really well.  They called me the next day and asked if I could come down for an interview next Monday.  I agreed, and told Ryan when I got home.  That Thursday before the interview, Ryan and I got into an argument about this whole situation.  He voiced how upset he was with me and that he felt as though I was pulling the rug out from underneath him.  I totally understand why he felt this way.  I just kept saying I was sorry and that if he was truly not going to consider moving that I was going to cancel the interview.  I didn’t want to burn a bridge with this company or get my hopes up for this position.  After much discussion, he said he wanted me to go to the interview and see what happens.  The next day he got laid off.

It was a Friday and I got home around 3:30pm.  We were all packed and ready to head down to Cincinnati because it was also Easter weekend.  I was standing in the kitchen and in walks Ryan and our friend Lane.  I was shoving my face with tortilla chips and queso and didn’t even turn around when they came in.  After a couple seconds of no one talking, I turned around and said, “Hey, guys what’s up?”  No one responded.  I immediately looked at Ryan, who had puffy, tear filled eyes, and said, “Someone tell me what is going on, right now!”  Lane mouthed, to me “He lost his job.”  I just grabbed Ryan and said, “I’m so sorry.  We’re ok.  We’re going to be just fine.”  He just sobbed.

We both agreed that for that night he was allowed to be sad and cry as much as he wanted but that tomorrow it was about looking forward and being positive.  We didn’t want to sit and dwell in the woe is me funk.

That Monday, the interview went great!  I felt so positive after meeting with HR and the Director of public affairs.  Ryan also had several past co-workers making phone calls for him to different firms and letting Ryan know of any opportunities they knew of.  Well, an opportunity popped up.  A BIG opportunity.  And it was located just south of Dayton! {Cincinnati and Dayton are 45 minutes apart.}  Ryan was called to come in for an interview and was there for almost 2 hours!  They loved him!  That next week they offered him the position.  4 weeks after being laid off, he was employed again and was able to advance in his career.  I got the call 2 days later offering me the position I had interviewed in Cincinnati.  Could this really be happening?!

I prayed extensively regarding the decision to pick up our family and move.  Ryan kept saying through out the process that we are leaving it up to God.  We aren’t going to try and force anything.  If it happens, it happens.  If it doesn’t, it doesn’t.  It seemed everything was just falling into place.  We both accepted our new positions and told our families.  Of course one family was beside themselves with excitement and happiness and the other was beside themselves with sadness and disappointment.  That’s the worst part about living in a different city than your family; The feeling that you are disappointing them or causing them any sadness.

Once family and friends had been notified, we started looking into selling our house.  We decided to try and sell it ourselves.  Handing $10,000+ in realtors fee’s wasn’t something we were interested in!  I paid $200 to have our home listed in the MLS and within 4 days it was sold… for FULL ASKING PRICE!  We had over 12 showings in 4 days.  It was nuts.  We bought our home in May 2011.  While living there we renovated the 1st floor bathroom, put in a master bathroom addition, and updated the kitchen with new appliances and painted cabinets.  All together we spent around $13,000.  We made close to a $55,000 profit on our home in 2 years!  Peace out student loans!   Again, things were falling perfectly into place!  My mom kept saying, “Holy crap Leah!  Everything that could possibly go right is just falling into your lap!”House collage

So we are now staying with my family in Cincinnati until we find a home.  We both have started our new jobs and LOVE them.  LOVE, LOVE, LOVE them.  When I start thinking about how much has changed in the past 2 months, I start feeling completely overwhelmed.  We are taking it one day at a time and some days are barely hanging on by a thread.  Our emotions and exhaustion levels are extremely high.  This past weekend we completely moved everything out of our home in Columbus.  Talk about high emotions.  Whew!  We love our house in Columbus.  While in that house we started careers, became 1st time homeowners, tackled home renovations and became parents.  That home will always have a special place in our hearts.

More to come… including an update on cutie patootie Sam the man!

Ah…. It feels good to be back 🙂

4 thoughts on “New Jobs. New City. New House… anything else?

  1. Congrats to both of you!!!!! I really enjoyed reading your blog Leah. someone was definitely lookingout for you guys. So glad to hear things are going so well for you and your family 🙂 your little man is adorable!

  2. So happy for you and Ryan. This was definitely God directing your path. I am always amazed at how He takes care of every detail. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

